Not many people have heard of SR-22 insurance, so when you get into a situation where it's required, the learning curve can be steep. Below are some of the basics about SR-22 and what you need to know.
What is it?
Just like interlock ignition devices and treatment classes, SR-22 insurance is often required after a DUI conviction. It is a document that you file with your state that shows you meet the minimum coverages for car insurance legal requirements. It is either required by the state or court-ordered and depending on which entity mandates it, you will either be notified by the DMV via mail or the judge will let you know at your hearing.
There are a lot of ways that people refer to SR-22, including SR-22 certification, SR-22 form, SR-22 insurance, an SR-22, SR-22 bond or a certificate of financial responsibility. Adding to this confusing mix, some states, like Florida and Virginia, have something similar to an SR-22, but different. It's called an FR-44. If you need to know the specifics for your state, DUI Care is here to help.
Where can I get it?
You can get an SR-22 from an auto insurance company. You may be able to have the SR-22 added onto an existing policy, but if not, you may have to shop for a new policy. The document can sometimes be electronically filed, but most often will need to be filed by mail with the state requesting it.
There are free services, like DUI Care that can connect you with providers and cut down on the overwhelming nature of insurance, rates and comparison shopping. Call DUI Care at (833) 989-1443 and an expert will help you navigate your SR-22 requirements.
How much will it cost?
Aside from a possible one-time filing fee from the insurance company (usually $20- $40), you won't pay anything else for SR-22 insurance. What potentially ends up being expensive is an auto insurance rate increase once the SR-22 form is filed, as you may be considered high risk by some insurance companies.
If you aren't sure whether you'll need a new auto insurance policy, call DUI Care at (833) 989-1443 and an expert will provide guidance and support in getting this daunting task taken care of quickly.
How long will I have to have it?
Like most DUI requirements, the required length of time you will need to have the SR-22 will vary from state to state. When the requirement begins will also differ depending on your specific state. You will want to know for certain what the exact requirements are to avoid penalties (like your license being suspended or revoked) for canceling too early.
If you could use a helping hand navigating your state's requirements or completing paperwork, an expert at DUI Care is here to help.
What do I do if I got my DUI in another state?
If you live in a state other than the one where you received you DUI, it can feel even trickier to navigate the requirements. It's important to know that some states won't require an SR-22, but instead have their own version of the form. So, on top of needing to know exactly what is required, you also need to be sure to file the required document with the correct state to meet your DUI requirements.
If you want a partner through this process to ensure you have the right form filed in the right place, let us help at no charge. You can fill out a contact form or give us a call at (833) 989-1443.
How do I buy it?
Not all companies will file an SR-22 form. It can take a lot of comparison shopping to find the right insurance company at a rate that you can afford. Finding a provider doesn't need to be overwhelming, our state experts are here to help—give us a call at (833) 989-1443.